The Quest for Less: A Pragmatic and Spiritual Approach to a Better Life, Part One

I am very frustrated being stuck at home and being alone a lot, even more so when I am not quite back to normal yet and one of my wounds has started weeping. I never thought I’d miss swimming so much. Being alone makes me a little stir-crazy. I get stuck inside my head.

Anyway… some thoughts, contemplating positive things…

Contemporary Western culture worships at the altar of MORE: more money, more stuff, more sex, more status, more power, more food, more booze, more weight-loss… more of whatever it takes to make me feel more than I am today.

Some say that there are too many people on this planet. Not true. It’s us, the tiny minority of rich Westerners, who consume the vast majority of the resources of the earth in our reckless gluttony. The trouble is this god of More is always hungry, and always greedy. It never gives anything back. It leaves its worshippers, like junkies, desperate for their next fix.

More, more, more!

Remember the scenes from the opening day of the sales?

Customers shouted angrily and kept shopping when store officials said they were closing because of the death, police and witnesses said.’

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2008/nov/29/wal-mart-blackfriday-shoppersstampede

 

A child fell as people pushed through the doors at Lafayette Square Mall, and no one appeared to be helping her. However, Indianapolis Metro Police said no serious injuries were reported.

“I actually jumped over the girl that fell. There was a few people on the ground but I jumped over ’em and kept running,” said a shopper.’

http://www.wthr.com/story/16383773/extra-police-called-for-shoe-launch

?????????????????????????????????

I don’t want that.

I don’t want it for me.

I don’t want it for my family.

