Last year I had the privilege of attending the Global Leadership Summit in my role as Compassion Advocate. My two favourite speakers were Wess Stafford, CEO of Compassion International, and Mama Maggie, who established ‘Stephen’s Children’. After hearing Wess speak, I was inspired to read his book, ‘Too Small to Ignore’. It is a life-challenging, life-changing book. Read it if you haven’t already!

 

And Mama Maggie.

 

 Image

“When one has nothing, God becomes everything.” – Mama Maggie

from  http://egyptactus.blogspot.co.uk/2012/02/coptic-christian-nominated-for-2012.html

Who shone with the light of something utterly inexplicable. After she had spoken, I felt like I had been in the presence of Jesus. I can’t remember ever feeling quite like that before. I can’t even quite remember what she said, either – but it was along the lines of losing oneself and finding God… only in terms so much more eloquent. I had already begun the journey by reading ‘One Thousand Gifts’.

 

“I want what she has.” I said to God.

 

Mama Maggie’s charity, Stephen’s Children, was in my mind again a few days ago, so I looked it up online. I couldn’t find any information about how to donate, so I emailed them. Their contact page asked for prayer requests.

 

Prayer requests?

 

Shouldn’t I be offering to pray for you?

 

But there it was, so I wrote what was on my heart in the simplest terms.

 

‘My prayer is to be more like Jesus. I want to thank Mama Maggie for showing me the path. And to thank God for giving me the opportunity to be at the GLS with my ticket all paid for. Thank you.’

 

I didn’t expect a reply to this, only to my request for information. Most organizations, even Christian ones, are mostly interested in whether or not you’ll be a donor. But they replied:

 

‘… You blessed us with your testimony about the Global Leadership Summit’s blessing in your life!  Thank you so much–I will share your comments with Mama Maggie.  She will be humbled by how God has used her to encourage you!  And she would further encourage you by saying–Keep taking the next step.  Don’t try to run; just take the next step of obedience and service.  Jesus will show the way.’

 

Humbled…? Anyone else and you might think that was an affectation. Not Mama Maggie. I am the one who is humbled.

 

I say to you, too, this message (echoing all that I have read about St. Anthony, Julian of Norwich, St. John of the Cross, etc.):

 

Don’t try to run; just take the next step of obedience and service. Jesus will show the way.

 

If you have been following my blog posts recently, you might put two and two together and see that that is exactly what I had been searching for, and needed to hear.

 

‘And though the Lord gives you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction, yet your Teacher will not hide Himself any more, but your eyes will constantly behold your Teacher. And your ears will hear a word behind you, saying, “This is the way; walk in it”, when you turn to the right hand and when you turn to the left.

Isaiah 30:20-21 (Amplified bible)

