Yesterday I went along for the first time to a quilting group. I have not done anything like it for more than twenty years. The last time was when I made a ‘flying geese’ pattern cushion in school. My triangles didn’t match, despite my best efforts, though the pretty fabrics made up for my lack of skill.

I tentatively chose a pattern, ‘building blocks’, with the help of a half a dozen ladies. They lent me a quilting book and magazine, and then gave me paper, lent me a pencil, scissors, needles, thread and even fabric so that I could make a start. I was told I didn’t have to pay as it was my first time. I enjoyed a cup of tea and was handed a raffle ticket.

“What’s this?” I asked.

“We have a little raffle each week.” My friend said.

“But I haven’t paid.” I protested.

“That’s ok. We don’t ask people to pay on their first time.”

After tacking one diamond to paper, and making a start on a second, someone yelled out a number. I realised it was my ticket.

“Oh, it’s me!” I cried.

I won the raffle.

On my way home, I reflected how this was a mirror image of life with Christ – and his promise of life in abundance. I come totally unprepared, yet am given all I need – and I’m the winner, even though I didn’t buy a ticket. I didn’t deserve either of those things, yet they were given gladly and freely. Life in abundance indeed.

‘The thief comes only in order to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows).’ John 10:10 (Amplified Bible)

