‘Bless the Lord, O my soul, worship His holy name.

Sing like never before, O my soul,

Worship your holy name.

The sun comes up; it’s a new day dawning.

It’s time to sing your song again.

Whatever may pass and whatever lies before me,

Let me be singing when the evening comes.’

I’ve tried to find a version on youtube of the song that has been on my lips all day, but actually I don’t think any of them do this song the justice it deserves. It has a lovely Celtic lilt and would be fabulous with a tin whistle, a violin and a pure, female Irish-style voice (no offence to Matt Redman, the male composer). The versions on youtube are all too rock-like, IMHO. I’d like to have a go, but… let’s leave that thought there. Anyway, the words are beautiful and I want to share them with you.

I became part of a Christian pastoral visiting team today. I will visit the residents of the care home once a week, and continue helping lead a ‘church’ service once a month. One of the things the elderly residents love is singing the old, beloved hymns. For some who are locked into a dream-like dementia, often with shadows that have no name, our songs bring light and life and happiness. Their smiles have blessed me more than I thought possible. And the idea that something as simple as singing praise to God could bring such pleasure is truly humbling.

Gives a whole new meaning to the words above, doesn’t it?

Heavenly Father, let me be singing when the evening comes.

