I had a phonecall from the police today. The case is progressing. They went to arrest the one who abused me as a child… but he wasn’t there. Even though I’m the one who gave a video testimony I still find it slightly shocking to be taken seriously. So many in ‘authority’ declined to take the crimes seriously in the past (https://justzoejustlife.wordpress.com/2012/07/31/here-am-i/) that the fact that they are now is almost shocking. But good. I thank God and pray for justice.

I have also had a virus for the past fortnight and today I could do nothing to keep my eyes open. It is a legacy of trauma that I usually cannot sleep during the day, so when I do, I know I’m ill. Rather annoying, though. I have so much to do! But I dreamt of singing Taize, which I had the immense pleasure of experiencing during our recent visit to Scargill House http://www.scargillmovement.org/

My sister recommended a blog written by her friend

http://threebeautifulthings.blogspot.co.uk/ which inspired me to think of three things for which I am thankful today, despite the lingering nastiness of being reminded that there is a police investigation, and all the emotions that evokes.

1) A big, clattering rainstorm that washed everything clean and refreshed the air afterwards.

2) A helpful Tink who went to the corner shop on her own as the storm began in order to buy two tins of beans. Some kindly stranger took pity on her and gave her a plastic bag to hold over her head. Poor thing looked like Orphan Annie when she got home.

3) Local sausages cooked by Frank, and a tea shared with the girls. HRH was at his SEN youth group. It was nice to have some time without him (in the nicest way – when he is there, he dominates everything by virtue of his autism).

Three Beautiful Things is a slightly toned-down version of Ann Voskamp’s blog (and dare I say it, more English?). Ann Voskamp, if you don’t know, is Canadian and wrote a wonderful book called One Thousand Gifts where she documents her journey towards a life of eucharisteo or relationship with God through thankfulness. http://www.amazon.co.uk/One-Thousand-Gifts-Voskamp-Ann/dp/0310321913 It is a wonderful, life changing book. I’m going to write a blog post on books that have influenced me, or I have found inspirational. Ann’s is one of those.

