You know the man who manipulated me, then naive 21-year-old, to his worldly  (deadly) 33 years, into marriage, coerced me into motherhood, cut me off from all my family and friends, called me the most despicable names many times a day, was violent towards me, threatened me that I would lose my children if I told the police… and was generally as vile an individual as any person can be…and then to top it all was convicted of paedophile offences, one of which related to my beloved daughter. Yeah. Him. You know that man?

I hate him.

Have you ever hated someone?

I don’t think I would if he would just disappear into the wormhole that he came from.

But when he keeps on attacking, serpent like… My heart wants to kill him. Am I allowed to say that, do you think, as a Follower of Christ? Or do I have to say I ‘count it all as joy’?

If he were to step out onto the road in front of my car…

What is this all about? It’s about a letter I received this morning. He has instructed his solicitors that he wants ‘mediation’ to discuss ‘supervised contact’ with ‘his children’.

And if he doesn’t get ‘mediation’, he will seek access ‘through the courts’.

What kind of a screwed up country sends a man like that, upon his release from prison, back to the same town as his victims? What kind of screwed up country lets him do this, now – and pays legal aid for him to have the privilege?

British justice? Broken justice.

The only justice I place my faith in is God’s. And I know what Jesus said about those who abuse the vulnerable:

“…if you give one of these simple, childlike believers a hard time, bullying or taking advantage of their simple trust, you’ll soon wish you hadn’t. You’d be better off dropped in the middle of the lake with a millstone around your neck.” Mark 9:42 (The Message paraphrase)

Because I love God, and because I so want to be more and more like Jesus, I choose to give this hate to Him. Because hatred destroys. It consumes you, from the inside out, and I will not allow that man to have such an effect on me and my beautiful family. We are making a new life for ourselves, by grace.

So, what do you think? With God on our side like this, how can we lose? If God didn’t hesitate to put everything on the line for us, embracing our condition and exposing himself to the worst by sending his own Son, is there anything else he wouldn’t gladly and freely do for us?… None of this fazes us because Jesus loves us. I’m absolutely convinced that nothing—nothing living or dead, angelic or demonic, today or tomorrow, high or low, thinkable or unthinkable—absolutely nothing can get between us and God’s love because of the way that Jesus our Master has embraced us. 

From The Message (paraphrase), Romans 8:31-39

