You could be forgiven for thinking that not sending your child to school is illegal. Parents can be prosecuted for not sending their child to school.  But if you move to a new area with a Special Needs child, the Local Education Authority can – seemingly – take their own sweet time to figure out the bleeding obvious, i.e. that a child who has always been to a special school needs to continue attending a special school. It ain’t rocket science. In fact, rocket science would be more straightforward.

Two weeks after we arrived,  the LEA ‘panel’ has had a meeting to determine whether to keep HRH’s Statement of Special Educational Need as it was written by the previous LEA, or whether to amend it. Bright sparks that they are, they decided to leave it as it is. If they had asked me, I could have told them how accurately it had been created in the first place. After all, I’m only his mother.

I’ve been trying to contact the so-called ‘caseworker’ for over a week, to get her to explain to me what the heck is going on, but to no avail. She has left two messages on my mobile but has not called my landline. The woman promised to call me yesterday. Still nothing. I rang and spoke to her colleague this morning, only to be told ‘these things do take time’. Funny, because when I first moved to the previous area, when HRH was five years old, the local LEA there sorted it all out very quickly, with due respect to my knowledge and authority as his parent, and with care and attention to my son’s needs.  It is just as well I am not in paid employment. I would have got the sack by now because I have no choice but to have my son at home.

Still, yesterday I decided to take the plunge, and in the middle of all the sorting of boxes, tidying and usual housework that ensues when you have three little monkeys, HRH and I went to the supermarket and bought the ingredients for some buns. When we got home, he made them, with a little help from me, thus learning a little English and Maths and Science all in one. I also got him to wash up the dirty utensils, so that he learns a little of how to look after himself. He enjoyed himself. I loved seeing that gorgeous grin. It brings light to my heart (not kidding, in comparison to his stares and glares, smiles are golden!).

Heavenly Father, may I make the most of each day, whatever happens.

Title is a quote from The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, which I am revisiting on my Mp3. It brings some light relief 😉

