The law states that full-time education is compulsory for 5 to 16-year-olds. Yet I am still waiting for our new local education authority to have their ‘meetings’ so that my child can attend school. Not even just the one meeting. It has to be two, so I was told. Each type of meeting only happens monthly (no, I am not making this up). So far, this all-powerful, unknowable ‘panel’, whomever they may be, has had one meeting, as detailed in my earlier post.

My son’s caseworker has buggered off gone on annual leave without even speaking to me (literally, I have never spoken to her) and yesterday when I called and spoke to the manager, she said, “So, looking at the notes, your son has been at a mainstream school until now?”

“No!” I cried. “He has been at special school since he was five years old!” All the information was right there in front of her in black and white from the previous school, yet they had still managed to get it wrong in between copying it from one piece of paper to another.

“Oh, I’d better change that, then. That might affect the results of the panel’s meetings…”

Astonishing. I began to wonder if social workers are not born like ordinary people, but bred somewhere in laboratories. I ended up telling her I felt like I was banging my head against a brick wall. She didn’t respond (there’s that indifference gene that they’re bred with). I phoned a solicitor and got some legal advice, so we’ll take it from there.

Frank is loving his new job, so that’s wonderful. The girls’ new school is one of the best schools I’ve ever seen and it’s a Christian school to boot! I love our teeny tiny crooked little 200 year old house. I have a new Welsh dresser, and a new rocking chair. And I’m managing on the sorting boxes and housework front. Thank God for http://www.flylady.net/ So we have plenty to be thankful for!

FlyLady. She saves my bacon on a daily basis.

Unfortunately this has and will affect my ability to blog for the immediate future. Please stick around – I hope to be back to my usual output soon. If you’re of a mind to pray, please keep this situation in your prayers (alongside all the other **** that I’ve blogged about previously that we’re still going through).

Is there anything for which you would like prayer?

I’m off to listen to Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts again while I do more sorting/housework/educating. I think I need it.

Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts… And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Colossians 3:15,17

